• (3 Pages)
  • +

31 Replies - 10556 Views - Last Post: 18 December 2009 - 11:47 PM

• D.I.C Head
  • member icon

• View blog

Web Constructions

Posted 11 August 2009 - 09:39 AM

I am a web designer. Here is the website I just finished designing: http://www.webconstructions.org. Tell me what you think. I would love any input (good or bad).
Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Web Constructions

• Tired.
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Web Constructions

Posted 12 August 2009 - 09:09 AM

Looks ok. The graphics need a little work. First of all - your paperclip has unnecessary artifacts around it. The black text in your nav doesn't have enough contrast to make it EASILY legible to all users.

Most important - currently - your site loads in 9.9 seconds and that is not necessary. You only have 1 image in your flash and yet it is almost half a meg. You need to optimize your graphics and flash immensely. You logo for instance is 4 colors plus the gradient for the shadow - so a top of 15-30 colors (margin for aliasing of text) is needed to produce your logo. Yet it comes in at 75K. I have redone it as a 50% jpg - and now comes in at 23K. You may even be able to go lower with a gif - didn't have time to test too much.

Anyways, look at optimizing the site then I'll look into your layout.

Keep it up - it's looking good.

--

Greg

Attached Image
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 12 August 2009 - 09:18 AM

The blue logo and black background don't fit together for my eyes. I like the paperclip , it gives a bulliten board feeling. The menu looks alright, again it doesn't fit with the background.

I like the cobweb (don't know why). But if you change the BG, it might have to change.

A good site idea, not bad. B Seem fitting Greg? :P
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• Tired.
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 12 August 2009 - 09:33 AM

A good site idea, not bad. B Seem fitting Greg?