Which is "nicer" to program? Windows or Mac OS X?

for those who have worked with both.

• (2 Pages)
  • +

20 Replies - 9765 Views - Last Post: 26 February 2013 - 03:45 PM

Poll: Which is "nicer" to program? Windows or Mac OS X? (17 member(s) have cast votes)

Which you prefer programming?

1. Windows (13 votes [76.47%])

Percentage of vote: 76.47%

2. Mac (4 votes [23.53%])

Percentage of vote: 23.53%

Vote Guests cannot vote

• GAME OVER. NERD WINS.
  • member icon

• View blog

Which is "nicer" to program? Windows or Mac OS X?

Posted 11 August 2009 - 05:43 PM

REFERRING TO GUIS AND FULL FLEDGED APPLICATIONS

I've often heard that Mac is easy to use, but its heck to program.

I haven't done a whole lot with programming mac, but I got a graphical hello world app running in VS C# in about a minute without much prior experience. That wasn't going to happen with mac os x cocoa stuff and interface builded/xcode, but that's just IMHO, I'm not very experienced with it.

Share your thoughts. :D

This post has been edited by crazyjugglerdrummer: 11 August 2009 - 06:29 PM

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Which is "nicer" to program? Windows or Mac OS X?

• Toubabo Koomi
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Which is "nicer" to program? Windows or Mac OS X?

Posted 11 August 2009 - 06:23 PM

Linux.

Someone's perception of "easier" will depend on many different things. The OS is rather irrelevant, as someone will most likely be developing on the same OS that they are writing for.
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

• Segmentation fault
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 11 August 2009 - 08:03 PM

I think it really depends which one you're more familiar with. I have an easier time figuring things out on Windows or Linux than I do on OS X because I use them much more frequently.