Can we team two NIc in Window Vista?

i want to combine two NIC in Vista to get single bandwidth?

Page 1 of 1

4 Replies - 2237 Views - Last Post: 14 August 2009 - 02:13 PM

#1 kernal  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 24
  • Joined: 09-August 09

Can we team two NIc in Window Vista?

Post icon  Posted 14 August 2009 - 12:07 AM

i want to Combine two NIC wireless or LAn and get the more speed from both? can i combine them as we do it in Linux?
Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Can we team two NIc in Window Vista?

#2 RudiVisser  Icon User is offline

  • .. does not guess solutions
  • member icon

Reputation: 1004
  • View blog
  • Posts: 3,562
  • Joined: 05-June 09

Re: Can we team two NIc in Window Vista?

Posted 14 August 2009 - 09:29 AM

Do you mean Bridge them?? Yes, you can.

But you won't receive your desired effect of "more speed"... I'm certain you can't do that on Linux either ;)
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 AdamSpeight2008  Icon User is offline

  • MrCupOfT
  • member icon


Reputation: 2271
  • View blog
  • Posts: 9,499
  • Joined: 29-May 08

Re: Can we team two NIc in Window Vista?

Posted 14 August 2009 - 09:40 AM

The limiting factor is the the size of the pipe (bandwidth) from the provider.
You can add more taps (NICs) to pipes it isn't going to increase the flow, if anything it will decrease it.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 Tom9729  Icon User is offline

  • Segmentation fault
  • member icon

Reputation: 180
  • View blog
  • Posts: 2,641
  • Joined: 30-December 07

Re: Can we team two NIc in Window Vista?

Posted 14 August 2009 - 10:18 AM

This is called "load balancing" and most modern operating systems support it. However as AdamSpeight2008 pointed out the bottleneck probably isn't your NIC.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#5 no2pencil  Icon User is online

  • Admiral Fancy Pants
  • member icon

Reputation: 5396
  • View blog
  • Posts: 27,389
  • Joined: 10-May 07

Re: Can we team two NIc in Window Vista?

Posted 14 August 2009 - 02:13 PM

Some ISPs are offering up to 6 mb download speeds. Wow!

This doesn't hold a candle to a gigabit Ethernet network :)
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1