Perl Errors lots of problems help!

Something is wrong with my perl =(

Page 1 of 1

5 Replies - 884 Views - Last Post: 22 August 2009 - 05:36 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Perl Errors lots of problems help!

Posted 19 August 2009 - 01:58 PM

Ok so I'm working on a script that a friend of mine wrote and what it is, is an anagram descrambler.
The point is to take a list of scrambled words from a given wordlist and then descramble them in under 30 seconds and enter them back into a form to be checked.
The problem I'm having is that for some reason it goes to the end of the list and uses the last word and returns it no matter the given input, I checked sytax and made sure that all of the curly brackets are where they're supposed to be but it still doesn't function properly.
As you will see I'm new to perl, its simlar to php so its a little easier but I still don't know all the rules =/
If you could help I'dappreciate it thanks!

#!/usr/local/bin/perl
my $filename = "/wordlist.txt";
my %wordlist;
my @curlist;
my $strid;
my $wrd;
my @inlist;
open( LIST, ") {
@curlist = (0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0,

0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0,

0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0,

0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0);
chop;
s/\r//;
$word = $_;
foreach (split(//)) {
$curlist[ord]++;
}
$strid = join(", @curlist);
$wordlist{$strid} = $word;
#	print $word . "\t" . $strid . "\n";

close(LIST);
print "word:";
while () {
chop;
@inlist = ();
foreach (split(/,/)) {
@curlist = (0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0,

0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0);