Hooking to a database

don't even know where to start...

Page 1 of 1

5 Replies - 543 Views - Last Post: 20 August 2009 - 08:16 PM Rate Topic: -----

#1 circuspeanuts  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 224
  • Joined: 11-April 08

Hooking to a database

Posted 20 August 2009 - 07:34 PM

Ok, this will be an open topic for I hope a long time. I have to create a java program that connects to a database, and I don't even know where to start. Are there some tutorials on this?
Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Hooking to a database

#2 jjsaw5  Icon User is offline

  • I must break you
  • member icon

Reputation: 90
  • View blog
  • Posts: 3,060
  • Joined: 04-January 08

Re: Hooking to a database

Posted 20 August 2009 - 07:41 PM

It's not really that hard to find this stuff if you actually TRY and look for it :)


http://www.google.co...p...se+&aqi=g10
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 circuspeanuts  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 224
  • Joined: 11-April 08

Re: Hooking to a database

Posted 20 August 2009 - 07:43 PM

every time I've used google pretty much it's failed me. that's why I asked if there was a tutorial on this site, because most of the time on this site the tutorials are put in a way that I can understand a little better..


thanks by the way, for the google tutorial, I'll check it out.


EDIT: those are tutorials to connect with java database, and that's not what I'm looking for. I'm talking about creating a database with microsoft access and connecting to that database through java.

This post has been edited by circuspeanuts: 20 August 2009 - 07:46 PM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 circuspeanuts  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 224
  • Joined: 11-April 08

Re: Hooking to a database

Posted 20 August 2009 - 07:51 PM

forgot to mention, it all has to be wrapped in a GUI..
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#5 virgul  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Regular

Reputation: 44
  • View blog
  • Posts: 269
  • Joined: 18-March 09

Re: Hooking to a database

Posted 20 August 2009 - 08:12 PM

http://www.easysoft..../jdbc-odbc.html

http://www.google.co...z...mp;oq=&aqi=

tell me if thats more of what your looking for.


Also GUI is just a way to display the program to someone, you should be able to add in a GUI if you know how to program them.

This post has been edited by virgul: 20 August 2009 - 08:14 PM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#6 pbl  Icon User is offline

  • There is nothing you can't do with a JTable
  • member icon

Reputation: 8347
  • View blog
  • Posts: 31,913
  • Joined: 06-March 08

Re: Hooking to a database

Posted 20 August 2009 - 08:16 PM

View Postcircuspeanuts, on 20 Aug, 2009 - 06:51 PM, said:

forgot to mention, it all has to be wrapped in a GUI..

2 completly different things

start my making your application with database (I wrote a basic tutorial on that using HSQLdb) simple table of FirstName, LastName and a table of FullName that reference the 2 previous tables
copy & paste it and make it work as a console application
then you can make a GUI around it to add/update/delete FirstName, LastName and FullName
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1