3 Replies - 779 Views - Last Post: 03 September 2009 - 05:12 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Need help for binary to decimal code

Posted 03 September 2009 - 02:18 AM

I am new to programming. I am in my 1st course and I took it because there were no pre-requisites. After getting in the class, I learn that you need some programming knowledge. I am on my first assignment and struggling. I was told about this site, and that I could possibly get help here. Let me start by saying I am not just looking for a code I can copy and paste, I need to learn how to do this stuff. I am just looking for help getting pointed in the right direction. I have a code started, I just need to change it so that it will figure the decimal number for a binary number, not just add the "1's" of a binary number together. Any help would be appreciated. I am using DevC++. It has to be configured to accept a 16 digit binary number and also set up to account for a user entering less than the required 16 digits, i.e 1001001 needs to be calculated as 0000000001001001. I have C++ for dummies that I bought to try to help me get this stuff, but I am not far enough into that yet to be able to do this problem. The text book is still waiting to be delivered. Also, I have looked at all 23 pages of the snippets. There is 1 that matches my problem, but being new to this I am struggling trying to decipher what is said there to what I need to do in my program. I am trying, not here for a quick answer. Below is what I have to work with. Can anyone help??

#include <iostream>
#include <math.h>

using namespace std; 

int main(void)

{

char b[16];

cout << "Please input a binary number up to 16 digits...\n\n";

cin >> b;

int sum = 0, i=0; 

while (i<16 && b[i] != (char)0) {

if (b[i] == '1') sum++; 

else if (b[i] == '0') ;  

else cout << " you are not inputting a binary number! \n"; 

i++;

}

cout << sum;

char c; cin >> c;

return 0; 

} 

*** MOD EDIT: Fixed code tags. Please :code: ***