4 Replies - 11959 Views - Last Post: 28 September 2005 - 10:41 AM Rate Topic: -----

#1 Xenon  Icon User is offline

  • Connection failed
  • member icon

Reputation: 8
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1,595
  • Joined: 12-September 05

Creating Tables in Oracle through VB application

Post icon  Posted 27 September 2005 - 03:27 AM

well new project ...B)
so far i know how to handle recordsheets through recordsets....
but recordsets dont allow me to Create Tables.. only new records

i need to CREATE tables in oracle, through a Vb application without opening SQL*PLUS visually.

the tables must be installed with some default records (say5) in them
i need the INSERT command for VB as well.( im not reffering to ADDnew recordset method)

something as a new challenge which i overlooked.
:blink:

----------------

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Creating Tables in Oracle through VB application

#2 Amadeus  Icon User is offline

  • g+ + -o drink whiskey.cpp
  • member icon

Reputation: 248
  • View blog
  • Posts: 13,506
  • Joined: 12-July 02

Re: Creating Tables in Oracle through VB application

Posted 27 September 2005 - 05:11 AM

You can create tables (or drop, or modify) and insert records using ADO objects in VB. Here is an example (of course, you'll have to modify the connection string to reflect connection to your oracle db).
Was This Post Helpful? 1

#3 Xenon  Icon User is offline

  • Connection failed
  • member icon

Reputation: 8
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1,595
  • Joined: 12-September 05

Re: Creating Tables in Oracle through VB application

Post icon  Posted 28 September 2005 - 04:57 AM

thnx amadeus once again B) cause its a bullseye
EXACTLY what i wanted
--no seconds thoughts doubting my registration here :pirate:

yo 1337 amadeus.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 Amadeus  Icon User is offline

  • g+ + -o drink whiskey.cpp
  • member icon

Reputation: 248
  • View blog
  • Posts: 13,506
  • Joined: 12-July 02

Re: Creating Tables in Oracle through VB application

Posted 28 September 2005 - 05:29 AM

Glad it worked for you...there are some excellent VB resources here (not one of my fortes), so they'll certainly try and provide you with what you need.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#5 born2c0de  Icon User is offline

  • printf("I'm a %XR",195936478);
  • member icon

Reputation: 180
  • View blog
  • Posts: 4,667
  • Joined: 26-November 04

Re: Creating Tables in Oracle through VB application

Posted 28 September 2005 - 10:41 AM

I tried one more method and it seemed to work on my machine.
Just type the Create Table Statement as a SQL query like this.
<recordset>.recordsource="create table <whatever>"
<recordset>.open
...code follows...


This does the trick but the link amadeus posted is a much cleaner way to do it.
Was This Post Helpful? 1

Page 1 of 1