6 Replies - 4341 Views - Last Post: 05 September 2009 - 11:23 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

assembly language to machine language

Post icon  Posted 05 September 2009 - 10:28 AM

heyy....i just need startup help with my work....I am new to visual C++ .......I need to write a program to convert assembly language to machine language in visual C++....can anyone tell me which application to use in C++ for that and how to startup the program......
Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: assembly language to machine language

#2 Guest_Neumann*

Re: assembly language to machine language

Posted 05 September 2009 - 10:38 AM

View Postphatakg, on 5 Sep, 2009 - 09:28 AM, said:

I need to write a program

which application to use

That doesn't make sense. Do you have to write the application yourself or do you have to use the application written by somebody else? In the former case, you use C++'s I/O functions to read the assembly file as a text, and output the resulting binary to another file in binary mode. In the latter case, you use the Assembler.
Was This Post Helpful? 0

• D.I.C Regular
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 05 September 2009 - 10:39 AM

This is very simple. Use the GNU compiler to convert to object code. I believe Visual Studios C++ has a GNU feature.
If not try using Linux. B)
For example...
gcc -c file.c

This will assemble and convert the assembly to object code but exclude the linking.
-o does it all.
-s just assembles.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 05 September 2009 - 10:59 AM

View Postphatakg, on 5 Sep, 2009 - 04:28 PM, said:

heyy....i just need startup help with my work....I am new to visual C++ .......I need to write a program to convert assembly language to machine language in visual C++....can anyone tell me which application to use in C++ for that and how to startup the program......