3 Replies - 639 Views - Last Post: 05 September 2009 - 02:38 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

help with better understanding of .Net language interaction

Posted 05 September 2009 - 10:49 AM

Hello,

Just want to thank everyone for reading my post. And apologize up front if it's in the wrong section or I have missed another post relating to my question.

I am a graphic designer for print media, with a little web design added in. I Create banner ads, update CSS for my company's web sites and create a few random pages, but our company also employs a web developer. I have worked with him once or twice and I am finding that I am really interested in learning more. I have done a lot or research online about .net and programming web applications, and I think I have identified a path I can follow so that maybe one day I can move over to the IT department, which uses SQL server for database and Visual Studio to program our web apps....

However after everything I have read, I still feel like I'm missing some crucial background information and I don't want to start tutorial books/websites before I get a better understanding of what can be accomplished with .Net programming languages and how those languages interact with each other to create what they do.

Some questions that have arised in my reading are
Is an aspx file the server side version of an HTML file?
How does it use C# or VB files, do you attach them separetely in the header like you would a Javascript or CSS file?
What part of a website is being displayed or made functional because of Javascript and what part is being made functional because .net programming?

Now I understand there are countless ways of programming a page under the .net framwork and that there is no one correct answer to the questions I asked, but if