VB6 script to run an ACCESS database

VB6 script to launch an ACCESS database

Page 1 of 1

5 Replies - 10382 Views - Last Post: 11 October 2005 - 11:23 PM Rate Topic: -----

#1 sbhagat786  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: 28-September 05

VB6 script to run an ACCESS database

Posted 28 September 2005 - 08:03 AM

I want to generate a script that would launch an access database which needs two entries - start date (yesterdays date) and end date ( todays date) every morning 7am and also print the report to a particular printer.
I have just the basic vb6 knowledge (VBin 24hrs by SAM) and no experience. If someone would give me suggestions and guidance, it would be wonderful.
Appreciate your help!!!!
Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: VB6 script to run an ACCESS database

#2 Nova Dragoon  Icon User is offline

  • The Innocent Shall Suffer, Big Time
  • member icon

Reputation: 36
  • View blog
  • Posts: 6,169
  • Joined: 16-August 01

Re: VB6 script to run an ACCESS database

Posted 28 September 2005 - 10:20 AM

this belongs in VB forum
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 born2c0de  Icon User is offline

  • printf("I'm a %XR",195936478);
  • member icon

Reputation: 180
  • View blog
  • Posts: 4,667
  • Joined: 26-November 04

Re: VB6 script to run an ACCESS database

Posted 28 September 2005 - 10:31 AM

sbhagat786, on Sep 28 2005, 09:30 PM, said:

I want to generate a script that would launch an access database which needs two entries - start date (yesterdays date) and end date ( todays date) every morning 7am and also print the report to a particular printer.
I have just the basic vb6 knowledge (VBin 24hrs by SAM) and no experience. If someone would give me suggestions and guidance, it would be wonderful.
Appreciate your help!!!!

Which method do you want to use?
You can either do it programatically or use the Data Control.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 Amadeus  Icon User is offline

  • g+ + -o drink whiskey.cpp
  • member icon

Reputation: 248
  • View blog
  • Posts: 13,506
  • Joined: 12-July 02

Re: VB6 script to run an ACCESS database

Posted 28 September 2005 - 10:51 AM

Well, any VB application can easily be scheduled by the operating system, so you just have to define exactly what you want the application to do. Here is a short look at working with dbs from VB...and you can take a look at this for some ideas about printing, including the Printer object, although it has its own problems...aside from that, what does the application have to do?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#5 sbhagat786  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: 28-September 05

Re: VB6 script to run an ACCESS database

Posted 11 October 2005 - 01:02 PM

born2c0de, on Sep 28 2005, 11:28 AM, said:

sbhagat786, on Sep 28 2005, 09:30 PM, said:

I want to generate a script that would launch an access database which needs two entries - start date (yesterdays date) and end date ( todays date) every morning 7am and also print the report to a particular printer.
I have just the basic vb6 knowledge (VBin 24hrs by SAM) and no experience. If someone would give me suggestions and guidance, it would be wonderful.
Appreciate your help!!!!

Which method do you want to use?
You can either do it programatically or use the Data Control.

Hello Pro!
Will sound stupid - if you use VB6 is it programatically?
I have no idea about Data control.
I would prefer to have it simple as possible so I can understand and trouble shoot.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#6 born2c0de  Icon User is offline

  • printf("I'm a %XR",195936478);
  • member icon

Reputation: 180
  • View blog
  • Posts: 4,667
  • Joined: 26-November 04

Re: VB6 script to run an ACCESS database

Posted 11 October 2005 - 11:23 PM

If you want it to be as simple as possible, use the ADO Data Control.
I'll post a tutorial soon on it, but meanwhile you can experiment with it and ask any questions you have on it on the forums.
The Data Control is by default placed in the General Tab in the Toolbox. Place your mouse over each control and wait for the tooltip to appear so you know which one is the data control.
Once the Control is added, click on the Custom Property and the Rest is all a matter of selecting options.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1