This doesn't fit into any category...But...

What programming language is best for N00Bs?

• (2 Pages)
  • +

29 Replies - 5574 Views - Last Post: 19 September 2011 - 09:47 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

This doesn't fit into any category...But...

Posted 08 September 2009 - 03:27 PM

This post doesn't really fit into any other forum, so I posted it here. But here's the question...

What is the best programming language to start out with for a beginner?

I am new to programming in general but I have been building WebSites (Then throwing them out so to speak), for about 3 years now. I just never thought I would need to learn it, but over time I have realized why I trash my WebSite's... I don't have a purpose to make one. I Have made about 6 dozen websites, (That means the whole nine yards with articles and everything), but I had no purpose in mind. Now I am thinking about building my own text editor so I have a purpose to put my site up. I mean when i got into High School last year and took Web Development, I was correcting the teacher for mistakes she was making, but now I feel it is going to be the other way around...

WoW, Just did a whole life story didn't I...

Well any way, I would appreciate a couple peoples input on my main question...

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: This doesn't fit into any category...But...

• using Caffeine;
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: This doesn't fit into any category...But...

Posted 08 September 2009 - 03:52 PM

This seems like a topic for the Corner Cubicle.

I would recommend an object-oriented language like Java or C# to start with.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• What did you call me?
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 08 September 2009 - 04:42 PM

This same question has been posted about a million times on this site.

I started with C++ but Java, C#, python, and even PHP could be a nice start. In the end it really depends on what you wanna do and what you want to make.