3 Replies - 3532 Views - Last Post: 30 September 2009 - 12:23 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Help with Multiple hover text info boxes

Posted 26 September 2009 - 04:11 PM

Okay, i'm really new to Javascript, so I apologize..

I'm trying to do an on hover inline popup for multiple different items.
the idea is I have a 'sign up' form page. and I want to have a ? after each field box
so that people can move the mouse over to that to see the popup to get 'instant/quick help'
to explain what the username is used for, and how long it has to be, and can't already be taken, etc. then info for the password, and about 11 fields, currently. Another problem i have. with all my tests to get it to work with multiple popups.. i noticed, how it currently is, the popup, is in the same place on the page, not relative to the popup text.. *whereas idealy it would be next to each place i put the popup text.. or when i have it done and working, a little ? picture.. instead of going down the screen and hovering over it for help, and seeing the popup box at the top of the page.

now i found this page: http://www.calcaria....html-popup.html and it was alot of help. except it only worked with 1 infobox. i've spent a few days trying to get it to work with more. and i've been unsuccessful. i think i can do 11 different functions, and in theory that should work, but seems very ineffecient as each one would be doing the same thing, just showing different information..

So this first code, i'm going to put in here. works just fine. except its only the 1 working popup and won't work for 'many' .. i'm showing you guys this, so you have an idea of what I am trying to do, and how i'd like it to look.. as far as how it works.. if there's a much better/more effcient way then the way i'm going about it.. that'd be great too.

<html>
<head>

<script type="text/javascript">
	function ShowPopup(hoveritem)
	{
		hp = document.getElementById("hoverpopup");

// Set popup to visible