2 Replies - 732 Views - Last Post: 28 September 2009 - 01:01 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Complete and Utter N00B!

Post icon  Posted 28 September 2009 - 11:04 AM

Ok guys, I'm a complete and utter noob when it comes to the topic of games design. I've made some simple VB programs, I'm familiar with VB, VBScript, Crystal and SQL...

So, I'm gunna try and translate my knowledge of games development, so hopefully, one of you (or more) can help me out and progress down a field in which I show great interest...

Ok, so, I understand that Computer Games run on engines, what I don't understand is, how do these engines work... can anyone explain this please? I just can't understand how the animations are ran by code =/ I know it sounds noobish, but yeah =/

Also, can anyone point me out on where a good place to start would be?

please and thanks,

Dave

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Complete and Utter N00B!

#2 modi123_1  Icon User is online

• Suitor #2
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Complete and Utter N00B!

Posted 28 September 2009 - 11:58 AM

It depends - do you want to write your own everything from the ground up or use some crappy drag and drop "game maker"?

I would advocate C#.NET (very similar to VB.NET) and the XNA game studios from Microsoft.

game engine walk through in XNA
http://www.innovativ...ine-tutorial-1/

xna:
http://creators.xna.com
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• using Caffeine;
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Complete and Utter N00B!

Posted 28 September 2009 - 01:01 PM

A basic would flow something like this:

Initialize graphics device
Load in game assets
while (game not over)
	Update Game Objects
	Render Game Objects
	preform timing
end while
Unload game assets