Graphic Design

Degree and how to get started

Page 1 of 1

3 Replies - 1326 Views - Last Post: 09 October 2009 - 11:23 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Graphic Design

Posted 29 September 2009 - 02:47 PM

Hi! My name is Franzi and I recently discovered a strong interest in Graphic Design. My current job in an e-commerce business required me to do some promo box resizings and image updates myself. I started playing around and experimenting with photoshop and I quickly realized how much fun this is. Now I am wondering if anyone could give me some suggestions on how to get started to learn more about it and get really good at it. I already have a bachelor in a totally different field and don't know much about Graphic design yet. Do I have to do another BA in graphic design if I decide to pursue this field as my career or is it sufficient to just get a bunch of certifications? Thanks in advance.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Graphic Design

• i am colt mccoy
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Graphic Design

Posted 29 September 2009 - 11:35 PM

Graphic Design is a strange breed.... its very vast but i'll try to be as encompassing as possible.

There are a million different uses for the art of graphic design, its almost like saying your an 'artist', and that could mean you create music or you paint. For a designer you could be doing web design, magazine production, posters, art, etc....

There are degrees that will teach you good design practices and software, my school offers something along the lines of what could be considered a "graphic design" degree under the major of Radio-Television-Film (you just specify a more graphics oriented approach).

Some schools, have a more specialized major for graphic design, but I have less info on exactly what they teach.