Have you ever actually used a use case diagram?

• (2 Pages)
  • +

20 Replies - 5184 Views - Last Post: 24 April 2014 - 11:28 PM

• Using up all your 1's and 0's
  • member icon

• View blog

Have you ever actually used a use case diagram?

Post icon  Posted 29 September 2009 - 08:20 PM

Hey guys, we have recently been introduced to use case diagrams, and I don't know if it's just a combination of poor teaching, poor course resource, or a brutally bad textbook, but these things seem very... useless :blink:

I'm just wondering what the general opinion is on them, and maybe if someone had a good tutorial on them if I'm completely wrong here so I can see what they're good for.

Thanks guys.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Have you ever actually used a use case diagram?

• Everybody's crazy but me!
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Have you ever actually used a use case diagram?

Posted 29 September 2009 - 11:26 PM

I'm not a professional so I can't say if they're ever actually used, but I don't see a use for them.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• g++ jameson.cpp -o beverage
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 01 October 2009 - 09:51 AM

They're as useful as JUnit testing or other planned out modular testing methods. You might have inadvertently used them already, example:

Say your writing a bank program. When you deposit $5000 you expect X amount of interest based on the requirements and your implementation. You then test it. This is essentially a use case. You didn't draw a diagram, but you had a hypothesis and you tested it with your software.

Generally though, use case deals with outside influences on your system (like the user in the above), but for large scale "enterprise" systems. Walking through a diagram can assist in planning and bug tracking.

This post has been edited by KYA: 01 October 2009 - 09:52 AM

Was This Post Helpful? 1

• member icon

• View blog

Posted 01 October 2009 - 04:03 PM