1 Replies - 3739 Views - Last Post: 21 October 2009 - 05:46 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

VB6 ActiveX DLL wrapper for .NET Windows Forms App?

Posted 16 October 2009 - 03:42 PM

Hi, I'm trying to write a script which will be called from a legacy application. Unfortunately the instructions provided by the legacy app are a bit confusing...and I'm new to VB in general, as well as the interoperability issues of COM vs. .NET.

However, I believe I have whittled down the issues to just ONE SIMPLE THING. (Maybe?)

I have:

( a ) A VB6 ActiveX DLL containing a project (Project1). Project1 contains a class called ProcessClass,
which contains one subroutine, ProcessActive(). These names are required by the legacy application, and
the idea is to put this DLL in a particular directory; then the DLL appears on a Script menu (it does) and the
application tries to run it (and depending on which time I tried, either does nothing or gives errors that indicate it at least recognizes the VB6 DLL).

( b ) A VB 2008 Windows Forms application, App1.EXE, which I have registered (using RegAsm App1.EXE /tlb:App1.tlb /codebase) for use in COM. App1 appears in the list of references in VB6, and I have checked it. The main form in App1 is called Form1.

Now, my simple (naive) question:

What code do I put in ProcessActive() to get App1.EXE to run? I can't look in the Help in VB6, it says "The MSDN collection does not exist. Please reinstall MSDN." Looking in the documentation for VB 2008, I see Process.Start(), but (i) I don't know if that exists in VB6 and (ii) I don't know what to try to run; App1? App1.Form1? The App1.EXE file, with full pathname?

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: VB6 ActiveX DLL wrapper for .NET Windows Forms App?

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Re: VB6 ActiveX DLL wrapper for .NET Windows Forms App?

Posted 21 October 2009 - 05:46 AM

I think the command you are looking for in VB6 is Shell.