Domain problems

  • (2 Pages)
  • +
  • 1
  • 2

24 Replies - 2519 Views - Last Post: 10 November 2009 - 06:38 PM

#1 Glorfindal  Icon User is offline

  • Java Enthusiast
  • member icon

Reputation: 30
  • View blog
  • Posts: 560
  • Joined: 31-December 08

Domain problems

Posted 24 October 2009 - 08:46 AM

Okay I recently bought a domain name from Godaddy.com. And now that my server is working. I had it foward with masking to my IP address. The problem is when I am on my forum the real directory to it is dragonkwest.net/forum/ but it just says dragonkwest.net in the browser bar how do I fix this?
Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Domain problems

#2 RudiVisser  Icon User is offline

  • .. does not guess solutions
  • member icon

Reputation: 1004
  • View blog
  • Posts: 3,562
  • Joined: 05-June 09

Re: Domain problems

Posted 24 October 2009 - 08:48 AM

You haven't set it up as a real domain, it's just running in a frame.

If you want to do it properly, have the nameservers point to your server's IP address, and setup your server to bind that website to the domain name.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 Glorfindal  Icon User is offline

  • Java Enthusiast
  • member icon

Reputation: 30
  • View blog
  • Posts: 560
  • Joined: 31-December 08

Re: Domain problems

Posted 24 October 2009 - 08:58 AM

How do I do that?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 RudiVisser  Icon User is offline

  • .. does not guess solutions
  • member icon

Reputation: 1004
  • View blog
  • Posts: 3,562
  • Joined: 05-June 09

Re: Domain problems

Posted 24 October 2009 - 09:02 AM

Is this a real server or are you home-hosting it??
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#5 no2pencil  Icon User is online

  • Admiral Fancy Pants
  • member icon

Reputation: 5410
  • View blog
  • Posts: 27,411
  • Joined: 10-May 07

Re: Domain problems

Posted 24 October 2009 - 09:04 PM

Based on these netcraft results, it looks like it's hosted on Godaddy.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#6 Glorfindal  Icon User is offline

  • Java Enthusiast
  • member icon

Reputation: 30
  • View blog
  • Posts: 560
  • Joined: 31-December 08

Re: Domain problems

Posted 25 October 2009 - 02:10 PM

What do you home-hosting it? The computer is at my house and I am just using a vista Home Premium OS with the version of IIS that came with it free.

#2pencil: That's because I bought my domain from godaddy.

This post has been edited by Glorfindal: 25 October 2009 - 02:20 PM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#7 no2pencil  Icon User is online

  • Admiral Fancy Pants
  • member icon

Reputation: 5410
  • View blog
  • Posts: 27,411
  • Joined: 10-May 07

Re: Domain problems

Posted 27 October 2009 - 10:52 AM

View PostGlorfindal, on 25 Oct, 2009 - 03:10 PM, said:

#2pencil: That's because I bought my domain from godaddy.

So you're having problems with your domain, & then you're going to tell me why the results are they way they are?

Nice.

The problem is that your nameserver entries point to GoDaddy, & not to where your server is located. Thus, the Netcraft results are correct, & are pointing out the error.

Or you can tell me that I'm wrong, & fix it yourself :) Because my Netcraft results point to my server, where my websites are hosted, & not to GoDaddy, where I registered the domain names.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#8 RudiVisser  Icon User is offline

  • .. does not guess solutions
  • member icon

Reputation: 1004
  • View blog
  • Posts: 3,562
  • Joined: 05-June 09

Re: Domain problems

Posted 27 October 2009 - 10:57 AM

No, it's fine. Almost every domain registrar has a "Forwarding" option, which is a frame hosted on their server pointing to another site.

The issue is because he's home-hosting it, asin he's on a non-reliable, non-static IP Address'd connection which will connect/disconnect, sometimes giving a new IP - which renders it unusable.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#9 no2pencil  Icon User is online

  • Admiral Fancy Pants
  • member icon

Reputation: 5410
  • View blog
  • Posts: 27,411
  • Joined: 10-May 07

Re: Domain problems

Posted 27 October 2009 - 11:03 AM

View PostRudiVisser, on 27 Oct, 2009 - 11:57 AM, said:

The issue is because he's home-hosting it, asin he's on a non-reliable, non-static IP Address'd connection which will connect/disconnect, sometimes giving a new IP - which renders it unusable.

Forwarding? Ewwwww!

I would still consider this a DNS/nameserver issue. Forwards are often consider spammy, as well as email will have huge problems coming from a home (residential) ip address, let alone when a reverse DNS fails.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#10 Glorfindal  Icon User is offline

  • Java Enthusiast
  • member icon

Reputation: 30
  • View blog
  • Posts: 560
  • Joined: 31-December 08

Re: Domain problems

Posted 27 October 2009 - 01:06 PM

Is there a way to get a static IP?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#11 RudiVisser  Icon User is offline

  • .. does not guess solutions
  • member icon

Reputation: 1004
  • View blog
  • Posts: 3,562
  • Joined: 05-June 09

Re: Domain problems

Posted 27 October 2009 - 02:23 PM

Contact your ISP?

@no2pencil Of course they're tacky but updating DNS to point to his new IP every day isn't cooooool :D
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#12 no2pencil  Icon User is online

  • Admiral Fancy Pants
  • member icon

Reputation: 5410
  • View blog
  • Posts: 27,411
  • Joined: 10-May 07

Re: Domain problems

Posted 27 October 2009 - 05:59 PM

View PostGlorfindal, on 27 Oct, 2009 - 02:06 PM, said:

Is there a way to get a static IP?

Commercial grade service. But be prepared to pay 3x the amount you normally pay.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#13 Glorfindal  Icon User is offline

  • Java Enthusiast
  • member icon

Reputation: 30
  • View blog
  • Posts: 560
  • Joined: 31-December 08

Re: Domain problems

Posted 29 October 2009 - 05:37 PM

What is commercial grade Service? :) Also what would you normally pay? Don't laugh I am knew to this. And I have been noticing issues with Wireless computers (like losing Internet access on other wireless computers in my network.) in my network will having a Dynamic IP on a server in a network cause that because I didn't have these issues.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#14 RudiVisser  Icon User is offline

  • .. does not guess solutions
  • member icon

Reputation: 1004
  • View blog
  • Posts: 3,562
  • Joined: 05-June 09

Re: Domain problems

Posted 29 October 2009 - 05:41 PM

Well it's going to be much cheaper to just get hosting, why arn't you doing that?? :/
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#15 no2pencil  Icon User is online

  • Admiral Fancy Pants
  • member icon

Reputation: 5410
  • View blog
  • Posts: 27,411
  • Joined: 10-May 07

Re: Domain problems

Posted 29 October 2009 - 11:50 PM

Rudi : I already asked that question. I'm all for learning, but before I got into web hosting I read a handful of books on it.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

  • (2 Pages)
  • +
  • 1
  • 2