Image editing throughout a directory

Take a directory, and all subdirectories, and convert the image files

Page 1 of 1

4 Replies - 1138 Views - Last Post: 26 October 2009 - 04:55 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Image editing throughout a directory

Post icon  Posted 26 October 2009 - 12:13 AM

Please excuse my having no code to display. I am new to C/C++ and am trying to learn on my own.

I have searched Google as well as a few books on C and C++ I own, but I can not find any information on loading and/or manipulating image files such as .png, .bmp, and .jpg.

I want to write a program that takes a directory, say "Folder", and takes every image file, like all .pngs, and converts them all to black and white .bmps.

The program should go through all subdirectories under "Folder" and do the same to all the files therein.

I am not asking for code. Please understand. I am just trying to find out how to start learning image editing with C/C++. I know a good deal of the Ada language, so I can pick up another language ok, just no luck on the image stuff.

I have had no luck searching the net for this information.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Image editing throughout a directory

• D.I.C Head
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Image editing throughout a directory

Posted 26 October 2009 - 12:33 AM

Hello,

View PostVelvetKarudaLeopard, on 25 Oct, 2009 - 11:13 PM, said:

Please excuse my having no code to display. I am new to C/C++ and am trying to learn on my own.

I have searched Google as well as a few books on C and C++ I own, but I can not find any information on loading and/or manipulating image files such as .png, .bmp, and .jpg.

So do you want to create you're own graphc format reading/writing library?? Or use one that's built already??

If you want a to do it yourself then the Enclycodepia of Graphics formats and even Wiki has the format specifications

Jw
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head