• (2 Pages)
  • +

25 Replies - 19707 Views - Last Post: 05 July 2012 - 03:13 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

BA in Computer Science vs BS in Computer Science

Posted 27 October 2009 - 01:46 AM

Some background:

I graduated from high school in 2003, having been the 'Tech Prep' program for the final two years. I went to a community college from 2003-2005 and obtained an Associate Of Applied Science degree in Computer Information Systems - Web Development. In 2006, I enrolled at Wright State University in Dayton, OH to get my Bachelor's Degree. When I started, they weren't yet offering a BA, only a BS, so I started on that track. As my second year was starting in the fall of 2007, they introduced the BA program. The BA program had additional space for electives, which meant that a good chunk of the courses I had taken for my associate's degree could be transferred, whereas hardly any were going to be used for the BS. The BS degree would instead require me to take a four or five additional math courses among other requirements. So basically, I was given the opportunity to get a Bachelor's degree about a year quicker and without having to take three Calculus classes. I felt like because I had started with two years in community college, I was already going to be 'late' finishing my undergrad work. Fast forward to the present...I'm finishing the last two courses I need for the BA, and will graduate in a few weeks. And I'm happy for that.

But I'm also a little worried. I have visions of employers dividing applicants' resumes into 'BA' and 'BS' piles and pitching the 'BA' pile. I've seen some places online where some older CS people laugh at the idea of a Bachelor of ARTS degree in Computer SCIENCE. But aside from the math, the CS/CEG curriculum isn't all that different from BA to BS, they only differ by a few courses.