probably something simple

Page 1 of 1

9 Replies - 1992 Views - Last Post: 04 November 2009 - 04:24 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

hitTest help!

Post icon  Posted 02 November 2009 - 04:25 PM

Evening all!

i've taken the plunge and i'm learning actionscript 2.0!
but i find it hard to follow all the books and resources available to me except direct help, because i'm new to OOP languages.

So onto the main thang,
i'm just going through things making random stuff but using features and learning the syntax, and todays task was hitTest.
but its not working :/

wondered if you guys could take a look

*DO NOT GIVE ME CORRECTED CODE*
but point me to my error, even explain exactly what it is, but let me figure out what to do by myself, or i won't learn

whew, thats a keyboardfull, thanks guys!

Its not letting me upload my .fla file, so here's the layout

2 movie clips, instance names fgzombmc and ballmc

Code In The Frame :
onEnterFrame = function() {
	if (Key.isDown(39)) {
	fgzombmc._x += 3
	}
	if (Key.isDown(37)) {
		fgzombmc._x -= 3
	}
	if (Key.isDown(38)) {
		fgzombmc._y -= 3
	}
	if (Key.isDown(40)) {
		fgzombmc._y += 3
	}
}

Code In ballmc :
onClipEvent(load)
{
	xcorrect = (_root.fgzombmc._width/2);
	ycorrect=(_root.fgzombmc._height/2);
}
onClipEvent(enterFrame)
{
	if (this.hitTest(_root.fgzombmc._x - xcorrect,_root.fgzombmc._y - ycorrect,true)==true){
	this.color = Red
	}
		}

you experts will grasp this, but my aim is to make the ball go red.

thanks again!

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: hitTest help!

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Re: hitTest help!

Posted 02 November 2009 - 07:46 PM

Actually I am not sure what you are trying to do. I seems for the first code for fgzombmc you are trying to make it move on the stage and you want to use the down key to do so. The second code for ballmc you are trying to use the x and y of fgzombmc to change the color of ballmc. Is this correct?