User Input Not Updating In New dgv Row

Visual Basic 2008 Express and MySQL

Page 1 of 1

3 Replies - 760 Views - Last Post: 05 November 2009 - 11:06 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

User Input Not Updating In New dgv Row

Post icon  Posted 04 November 2009 - 12:43 PM

Hello Folks,

I have followed a tutorial at http://www.vbmysql.c...mysql-tutorials. It is a very good tutorial but it is also a little dated. Most people who visit it praise it to high heaven so I decided it was a good place to start as an absolute beginner to programming. (I have teamed it up with Dan Mabbut Vis basic tutorial at about.com and joined DreamInCode in order to learn what I can accomplish with Visual Basic 2008 Express ). I am up to part 6 of 7 but keep going back to part 4 because there is one aspect I just cant work out.
I am creating a form which logs staff in or out of work and allows staff to include a message with their ( at work /away from work ) status details on the form.

Everything works as it should apart from one thing:

The form is supposed to update a users status in a new row when they click a button. In my form the rows per user are being over-written with the updated information - it is not being written in a new row. There is a login form which precedes the staff status form - this has a little relevant code re calling the user info from the database but I think my problem is related to the insert statement in the middle of the below code.

Private Sub cmdUpdate_Click(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles cmdUpdate.Click
				Dim conn As New MySqlConnection
				Dim myCommand As New MySqlCommand

conn.ConnectionString = myConnString

myCommand.Connection = conn
 <!--HERE-->  
myCommand.CommandText = "INSERT INTO event(user_id, message_id, timestamp, status, creator)" _
				 & "VALUES(?UserID, ?MessageID, NOW(), ?Status, ?Creator)"

myCommand.Parameters.Add("?UserID", myUserID)