Web Architecture/Flow

Software project, creating website

Page 1 of 1

8 Replies - 2460 Views - Last Post: 16 November 2009 - 03:22 AM

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Web Architecture/Flow

Post icon  Posted 12 November 2009 - 06:02 PM

Hi. I am a student working on a Software Engineering project. Me and my teammates decided to create a website, similar to what craigslist does, but for our school environment (buying, selling products, negotiations done outside of the website). I am trying to figure out what components would go into this project. I'm used to developing desktop applications (C++, C#, Java), but web development is new to me. Additionally, I have no experience with databases. I'm familiar with HTML, PHP, and Perl.

I figure that there would be two components to the system, a server, and a database.
A requirement is that the server be written in C++. I'm not sure exactly what that entails. I suppose it's writing server code to deal with listening to ports, sockets, or some form of communication through the website. Also, I'm guessing (from some googling) that the physical server (tower, hardware) will store the webpages.

Where I get lost is in figuring out what are the subsystems of this system. That is, what goes into making this website project's architecture. This is how I break it down. I'm not sure if it's correct or even in the right direction.

Database: Contains tables, for
--user data (username, pass, bio, transaction history)
--product data (user who posted, description, etc)
--transaction data (history, users involved, etc)

Server: Deals with everything else
--stores webpages
--stores server code (server.cpp, for example) to deal with communication requests (website stuff)
--stores code for an automated system (registration confirmation emails, emails to users, and the like)
--supports threading
--communicates with the database