Selecting a programming language

Need help in selecting the right language to learn

Page 1 of 1

4 Replies - 1321 Views - Last Post: 14 November 2009 - 12:02 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Selecting a programming language

Post icon  Posted 12 November 2009 - 06:58 PM

I am an experienced macro programmer in Lotus 123 and would like to create a program for commercial purposes; however, I don't know anything about selecting the right language to learn. Any suggestions or guidance would be very much appreciated.
Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Selecting a programming language

• Toubabo Koomi
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Selecting a programming language

Posted 12 November 2009 - 07:21 PM

** Topic moved to Software Development **

Sorry that I don't have anything to add. I've never done anything like that before. Best of luck!
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 12 November 2009 - 11:42 PM

Any suggestions or guidance would be very much appreciated.
There isn't a right or best language, otherwise we would all use it. Programming languages are considered tools, where one uses the right one or what seems to be the best one for a particular objective.

You might be better off doing a few things:

(1) Having a very thorough idea of what your program does. Needs to be more than a one line description...
(2) Researching various modern programming languages. Spend some time on Wikipedia if Google gets tedious... But really, spend some time doing research.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 13 November 2009 - 04:56 PM

View PostOler1s, on 12 Nov, 2009 - 10:42 PM, said:

Any suggestions or guidance would be very much appreciated.
There isn't a right or best language, otherwise we would all use it. Programming languages are considered tools, where one uses the right one or what seems to be the best one for a particular objective.