5 Replies - 2087 Views - Last Post: 23 November 2009 - 07:49 PM

• D.I.C Head
  • member icon

• View blog

Apache webserver with unregister domain name

Post icon  Posted 23 November 2009 - 10:36 AM

Dear all,
I have install an Apache webserver on my windows XP. And I tried to make it online by assign it with an unregistered domain name.
Questions:
1. I know that it is not recommended to put an unregistered domain name in a webserver, but I do this for experimental purpose. Suppose I picked a random name like www.kerifskkdll.com and register it to a free public DNS server. Will this work?

2. This is my first time to configure a webserver in my PC so please bear with me. Suppose the following is my ipconfig:
C:\Program Files\Apache Software Foundation\Apache2.2\bin>ipconfig

Windows IP Configuration

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
		IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.2
		Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
		Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1

PPP adapter STAR:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
		IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 135.163.19.11
		Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.255
		Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 125.163.19.183

My internet provider STAR assigns me IP address 135.163.19.11
Therefore in my Apache httpd.conf file I would do this:
Listen 8080
NameVirtualHost 135.163.19.11:8080
<VirtualHost 135.163.19.11:8080>
ServerName 135.163.19.11:8080
ServerAlias www.kerifskkdll.com
DocumentRoot "C:/Program Files/Apache Software Foundation/Apache2.2/htdocs"
</VirtualHost> 

Is this configuration correct? Anything should be added from it?

3. Since I'm using home internet cable, the IP address will constantly change and I probably need a software to map the constant IP. How this will reflect the Apache configuration file? What is a good software to do this?

Best regards,
ethereal1m

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +