OK, how to do it correctly

Page 1 of 1

5 Replies - 4101 Views - Last Post: 26 January 2006 - 05:34 PM

• code.rascal
  • member icon

• View blog

Background music revisited

Posted 09 January 2006 - 02:30 PM

OK, I hate music on webpages, they always start up so loud that I almost get a heartattack especially at night, but I am making a site for a friend and he wants it badly. So what is the best way to do it? My main concerns are:
1) stop / pause
2) adjustable volume
3) continuous play while changing pages

These pretty much eliminate music in CSS, so I have coded a little flash app to play a few tracks fulfilling #1,2. And here comes my current problem: #3. So far I have come up with two solutions:
- popup for the player, cons: it might be blocked, etc.
- frames: one for the player and one for the site, cons: its ugly, no way to eliminate border between them in a validating way (at least this is what I've read, but I am not an expert with frames), and navigation / bookmarks might not work as expected by some (well, this latter can be taken care of by javascript - mostly)
Which one would you recommend and why? Any new solutions are welcomed, too.

I've almost forgotten: the site is xhtml 1.0 strict.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Background music revisited

• D.I.C Addict
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Background music revisited

Posted 15 January 2006 - 01:28 PM

I'm not sure if the <iframe> qualifies, but you could create a webpage that can be entirely navigated through an iframe and have the music on the page hosting the iframe. You can also make the website entirely Flash-based so that the user stays on one page the entire visit.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• code.rascal
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 17 January 2006 - 07:32 AM

Thank you Arbitrator for your thoughts, I didn't think about iframes!