1 Replies - 380 Views - Last Post: 27 November 2009 - 05:59 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Working with I/O with an executable

Post icon  Posted 27 November 2009 - 01:41 PM

Hi, I'm a high school student in APCS. I'm making a crossover project, that is, the game of Ghost (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ghost_(game)) in Latin. I plan on simply making the program work with basic I/O before making a GUI. That's not the hard part, however. Since it would be an arduous (and at my level, nigh impossible) task to code a program that returns information about all Latin words, I plan to use an already completed (and absolutely excellent) program called WORDS (http://ablemedia.com/ctcweb/showcase/whitakerwords.html) by a man named William Whitaker. First, here is what I want the program to do.

Recall that the game of Ghost is played by having each player add one letter at a time. The player who completes a word greater than two characters in length or adds a letter which makes the word not a fragment of any existent word loses and gains a point.

1. Program prompts user for number of AI players and number of human players
2. Starting player is randomly selected.
3. Each time a letter is added which brings the word String's length to greater than two, the String is passed to WORDS to check if it is a valid Latin word. If it is a complete word the player who finished the word loses. If it is not a part of any valid word, the player loses. If it is part of a valid word, the game continues.
4. As soon as the word is completed, the loser's point will be added and details about the word (e.g. a noun's case, gender, or meaning) will be printed out (I plan to make this as a sort of educational aid)
5. Players are eliminated at 5 points. Program can be exited at any time by entering "-1".