5 Replies - 923 Views - Last Post: 29 November 2009 - 01:44 AM Rate Topic: -----

• D.I.C Regular
  • member icon

• View blog

Just some questions....

Posted 27 November 2009 - 03:02 PM

G'day,

So, I'm a pretty decent C++ programmer, and I like the idea of getting into game development (like a hobby :P). Basically the only experience i have in the subject is a pong game I made using Windows GDI functions (don't ask :unsure: ). Anyways, I've decided to try and make a 'clone' of the ever popular 'N' by metanet. Obviously this is more difficult than pong, so I have a couple of questions. Here goes:

1. I know I'll need a real graphics library and GDI won't cut it.....so which is more recommended: SDL? or allegro?
2. What is the basic idea/process behind loading levels? (pong don't got levels now does it :P)
3. How are these kinds of games organized? Examples of similar game engines might help :)

Hope I make sense. Thanks in advance :D

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Just some questions....

• Gentleman of Leisure
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Just some questions....

Posted 27 November 2009 - 03:11 PM

I have been dabbling around with Allegro. I have been reading a book called Game Programming All in one by Jonathon Harbour and he uses the Allegro library. It also integrated nicely for me in Code::Blocks. I recommend at least looking into Allegro, however SDL is also very popular.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• using Caffeine;
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 27 November 2009 - 03:15 PM

You actually could do it with GDI but I wouldn't recommend it. The main reason is that GDI can be slow and it will bottle neck your game in the rendering process. Everything else would move at a pretty good rate.