• +
  • « First

50 Replies - 6688 Views - Last Post: 27 February 2010 - 08:53 AM

• D.I.C Regular
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Is The Internet Ruining Academics?

Posted 20 December 2009 - 02:00 PM

The internet is in no way ruining academics, nor is it ruining students. For those of you out there slamming all the lazy students, we aren't all bad. I WAS a horribly lazy student, I would have spent a grand total of 20 hours in class (bar compulsory labs/tuts) in my entire first year, and I wasn't much better in the beginning of my second. I was guilty of the copy/paste crime in second year because I didn't understand the fundamentals and didn't go to class. Because of this (the not understanding, not the copy/paste) I almost flunked 2 papers (read: restricted pass) and did horribly on the rest (my GPA for that year was actually slightly BELOW a C). However, I somehow managed to land a job coding that summer, found DIC (although you may not know it, half of you guys contributed to my crash course in VB.NET :P ) and caught the coding bug. Two years later I get an A average for my final year of a 4 year BE, topping the class in a couple of programming papers.

While copy/paste shouldn't be promoted, my point is that not all 'lazy' students are going to be failures. My parents tried the whole 'study hard' approach through high school and it didn't really work for me because
a) - Nothing interested me
B) - I figured out I was smart enough to cruise through