Flash AS3 Error that I dont

I need help in Flash. I am using AS3!

Page 1 of 1

7 Replies - 921 Views - Last Post: 12 December 2009 - 12:38 PM Rate Topic: -----

#1 mike25630  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: 06-December 09

Flash AS3 Error that I dont

Post icon  Posted 06 December 2009 - 01:06 PM

Ok so I would post my code but I cant cause its a mess because this is my first Flash experience.
Here's a link to my document.
It gets an error in the output when I test it(control + enter). Click on easy guess a number and wait till you win. I cant click play again.

http://rapidshare.co...umbers.fla.html

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Flash AS3 Error that I dont

#2 mike25630  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: 06-December 09

Re: Flash AS3 Error that I dont

Posted 07 December 2009 - 02:28 PM

Please help me!
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 stayscrisp  Icon User is offline

  • フカユ
  • member icon

Reputation: 1010
  • View blog
  • Posts: 4,214
  • Joined: 14-February 08

Re: Flash AS3 Error that I dont

Posted 07 December 2009 - 03:26 PM

I would help but I really don't want to download that file, can you not post the code you seem to be having problems with?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 mike25630  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: 06-December 09

Re: Flash AS3 Error that I dont

Posted 07 December 2009 - 05:22 PM

View Poststayscrisp, on 7 Dec, 2009 - 02:26 PM, said:

I would help but I really don't want to download that file, can you not post the code you seem to be having problems with?

sorry because it is an error that doesnt make sense and only shows up in the output and my code is in a bunch of different places
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#5 stayscrisp  Icon User is offline

  • フカユ
  • member icon

Reputation: 1010
  • View blog
  • Posts: 4,214
  • Joined: 14-February 08

Re: Flash AS3 Error that I dont

Posted 08 December 2009 - 02:09 AM

Well how about you post the error?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#6 Shalzaon  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head
  • member icon

Reputation: 2
  • View blog
  • Posts: 27
  • Joined: 21-January 09

Re: Flash AS3 Error that I dont

Posted 10 December 2009 - 08:11 PM

Here is the start of your problem

guessandcheck.addEventListener(MouseEvent.CLICK, function()
		{
			guessnumber = Number(input.text);
			
			if (level==1)
			{


you have this guessandcheck method with no parameters, you need to establish what it does in your code so that you can use its method call properly

and you really need to work on your CamelCase or your just going to get lost in your code, try to keep it a little more orginized and you have your code spread through out far to many frames, you should learn how to creat a AS3.0 class so that all your code is in one nice neat separate document
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#7 mike25630  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: 06-December 09

Re: Flash AS3 Error that I dont

Posted 11 December 2009 - 05:30 PM

View PostShalzaon, on 10 Dec, 2009 - 07:11 PM, said:

Here is the start of your problem

guessandcheck.addEventListener(MouseEvent.CLICK, function()
		{
			guessnumber = Number(input.text);
			
			if (level==1)
			{


you have this guessandcheck method with no parameters, you need to establish what it does in your code so that you can use its method call properly

and you really need to work on your CamelCase or your just going to get lost in your code, try to keep it a little more orginized and you have your code spread through out far to many frames, you should learn how to creat a AS3.0 class so that all your code is in one nice neat separate document


so how do i add parameters
rather what would i use

and thanks for the tip about classes
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#8 Shalzaon  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head
  • member icon

Reputation: 2
  • View blog
  • Posts: 27
  • Joined: 21-January 09

Re: Flash AS3 Error that I dont

Posted 12 December 2009 - 12:38 PM

you would need to add something along these lines

 
var guessAndCheck:uint or int 

function guessAndCheck():void
{
guessAndCheck = "value"
}



that way you can call your guessAndCheck(); method any time you need too
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1