(BEGINNER) Automated Website Text Search

Looking for a few pointers with a simple program.

Page 1 of 1

2 Replies - 477 Views - Last Post: 09 December 2009 - 03:21 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

(BEGINNER) Automated Website Text Search

Post icon  Posted 08 December 2009 - 09:08 PM

For starters, I am a beginner programmer. I have only taken one programming course in college (C++), but it was substantial enough to help make up my mind about jumping into software engineering...oh, and it was a year ago. Without any practice, I'm a tad rusty, but I want to fully submerge myself back into the content I learned. At this point, I can only make basic DOS-based programs with C++ (typically through Microsoft Visual Studio 2005), but that is all I currently require. So far, I feel that I grasp all the main concepts pretty well, I am just hoping for some guidance on the following program description:

I am waiting for a seat to open in a class that I want to take next semester. I want to write a program that will check the school's website periodically (say once every half hour) to see if the class seat status has gone from "0 of 30" to "x of 30" (0<x<31). If it comes up with a value of x>0, I want some kind of notification (anything simple, like a pop-up dialog box). The site is coded in XHTML. I'm not having any troubles figuring out where the "0" pops up:
(<td style="text-align:right;padding:0px;width:22px"></td> .... it's in a table)