new to java

whats the best way to go about this?

• (2 Pages)
  • +

21 Replies - 2173 Views - Last Post: 14 December 2009 - 04:47 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

new to java

Posted 09 December 2009 - 10:59 AM

I wont lie I'm a total newb to Java and programming in general. So I will appologise right off the bat.

Now I have a project where I need to make a swimming pool calculator. All I really need to do is enter in length, width, average depth and create a button to do the calculation. I guess im confused on what the best thing to use for this. Do I use a frame? or panel? I guess it could be an applet too. Should I just use awt package or should I use swing? I guess it's all prefrence maybe?

this really shouldn't be hard to do but i'm having a hard time getting started. I'm not asking for code here but advise. I can create a basic frame but I get confused on adding in my components. I know I'll need lables, textfields,and a button. It will have to use actionListener for the event of clicking the button.

It's when I sit down to write the code is when I get all messed up so to speak. Do all three things (applet, frame, and panel) need to use containers? Again I'm sorry because I kinda of understand how to do this but just lack the ability to putt it together. Again I'm not asking for the code I really do want to write this myself and make it work. But I have been searching and reading and am just having a hard time finding anything that will show me just how to putt the whole thing together.

Thanks in advance for any guidance you can give me!

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: new to java

• Using up all your 1's and 0's
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: new to java

Posted 09 December 2009 - 11:46 AM