Page 1 of 1

10 Replies - 8146 Views - Last Post: 09 March 2011 - 05:33 AM Rate Topic: -----

• D.I.C Addict
  • member icon

• View blog

Idea for creating sprite sheets

Posted 09 December 2009 - 10:08 PM

Hi everyone,

So I only know one method for adding animations into a 2D game, and that is with sprite sheets. I am no artist(not even close), and I find it very difficult to create each animation frame for a sprite sheet using gimp. Especially since a smooth looking animation will take A LOT of frames.

I have an idea, and I wonder what everyone thinks of it. The idea is to draw, say a character for an RPG(in a front standing position) in gimp. Then importing the image to Adobe Flash CS4. Then using the bone tool, or symbols to create a smooth looking animation of the character running in each direction, attacking, dying, ect. Then take each frame that flash creates and export them as a .bmp file, then arranging them into a sprite sheet.

So I was wondering, is this a good method of creating sprite sheets? Is there a better way? Is this even possible in Flash? Is there a cheaper alternative to Flash that can accomplish the same thing? Am I completely idiotic?

Any comments will be appreciated!

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Idea for creating sprite sheets

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Re: Idea for creating sprite sheets

Posted 10 December 2009 - 04:08 PM

Dang i was hoping someone would have answered, I am in the same boat. I am a terrible artist and need to find and animate some sprites for one of my games.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 10 December 2009 - 04:24 PM

lol I think we all need the answer to this one
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• フカユ
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 10 December 2009 - 04:40 PM

Hi