1 Replies - 445 Views - Last Post: 14 December 2009 - 12:34 AM Rate Topic: -----

#1 Sue816  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 2
  • View blog
  • Posts: 92
  • Joined: 22-April 09

x86 Question

Posted 13 December 2009 - 09:40 AM

Each time I create a program, if I don't change the CPU type to x86 in the Project Properties, Compile, Advanced Compile options, it doesn't work. For example, if I hit the drop down button on a combo box, there will be no data, but after switching to x86, there is data.

How does changing the CPU type affect how others (such as when its being graded) view the program? If the program is not run on an x86 system, would it appear to not work then?

Thanks,

Sue

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: x86 Question

#2 motcom  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

Reputation: 290
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1,371
  • Joined: 16-June 08

Re: x86 Question

Posted 14 December 2009 - 12:34 AM

Hi Sue816,

The x86 means its for a 32bit system.

Active (any CPU) is for 32 and 64 bit systems.

Now the x64 is only for 64 bit systems.

Its just about optimization for the different systems.

motcom
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1