6 Replies - 725 Views - Last Post: 09 February 2006 - 08:04 PM

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Hi this is Ross Petersen

Post icon  Posted 07 February 2006 - 10:58 PM

:P

Hi folks

I have been programming for a few years now.

I first started a few years ago because I was appointed as an admin support person for a payroll/personnel project team for the Tasmanian State Government. Anyway, I was involved with looking after the finances etc for the project and it soon became obvious that the financial system that the Department looking after our finances (such as payments, receipts etc) did not meet our information requirements. So, I had to design an Access DB to look after that side of things. This was very successful.

A few years later, I left work because my wife had become very ill (kidney failure) but by that stage I was closely involved with a christian organisation by the name of Fusion Australia doing DB work.

About a year ago, I was asked by a nearby office of Fusion Australia to develop a system that would enable the matching up of people with personal needs with volunteers that are able to meet those needs. The kind of asistance the Clients need are such things as lawn mowing, house cleaning, shopping etc. This entailed having various tables to store info relating to availability of the Clients & Volunteers etc.

So, I have been working on that for awhile (decided on a Access DB because it was just for that office). However, just recently I was asked to consider extending it so it could be used by all the offices in Australia. They said that they would want to have it on their intranet with SQL Server as the DBMS.

So, I thought about it a bit, and came to the conclusion that a .NET distributed app would be the way to go.