5 Replies - 9308 Views - Last Post: 25 December 2009 - 01:23 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

C programming: delays and interrupts

Posted 24 December 2009 - 07:36 PM

Hi guys,

I would like to start by introducing myself. I am an engineering student in his second year and who is still improving his programming skills. I would say I am an intermediate programmer but obviously I will ocassionally need advice from you on where I could be going wrong and the possible ways I could fix mistakes or improve efficiency of my code.

Back on topic, below is the code, i've written to run 2 stepper motors at the same time in both directions using various speeds and using a PIC16F648A. The code is working but the slight hiccup is when i test it on the test board. See for the first motor, the speed is being set using the delay_ms function whilst for the second motor, which is run by an interrupt uses RTTC INTERNAL time Divs.

Is there a method I could use to get equal time delays for both motors. I thought about using delay_us and delay_ns functions for the first motor in order to match the interrupt timer.

Here's the code so far:
#include<16F648A.h>
# fuses NOLVP, NOMCLR, INTRC, NOWDT, NOPROTECT, NOCPD
# use delay (clock=4M)//4MHz clock
# DEFINE SPEED1 20 // 15 RPM
# DEFINE SPEED2 10 // 30 RPM
# DEFINE SPEED3 5 // 60 RPM
# DEFINE SPEED4 2 // 120 RPM
/*Declare Global Variables*/
int LUTBLE[4]={0X09,0X0C,0X06,0X03};  
int tableindex1 = 0, tableindex2 = 0;

/*The struct below is for the pin layout*/
struct EE2A
{   
   int motor1_direction:1;
   int motor1_speed:2;
   int motor2_direction:1;   
   int motor2_speed:2;
   int unused:2; // 2 unused pins on Port A	 
   int motoutput1:4;// 4 outputs for motor1
   int motoutput2:4;// 4 outputs for motor2   
};

struct EE2A IOPort; //initialise struct for inputs
struct EE2A TrisPort; //initialise struct for outputs
#byte IOPort=0x05 //set inputs to PortA
#byte TrisPort=0x85 //Tris bits for PortA
#int_RTCC //Interrupt