3 Replies - 1147 Views - Last Post: 02 February 2010 - 05:18 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

The art of programming

Posted 27 December 2009 - 05:40 AM

OK, so I've been learning to program for around 4-5 months and understand the basics of C# and a few of C++. I know in theory I have enough knowledge to begin on a project with the new XNA framework I've just downloaded...

Trouble is where do I begin? How many classes do I create, what classes do I create? Do any of you programming geniuses out there have a method you follow when creating a new project, or do you know of any tutorials, I feel my lack of creativity is holding me back in this new, fun and challenging activity.

As always you help is greatly appreciated.

~Pipey~

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: The art of programming

• using System.Linq;
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: The art of programming

Posted 27 December 2009 - 05:53 AM

Since you are using the XNA framework, I am sure that you want to work on a game. To start with, work with some tutorials. When you will get the grasp of the framework itself, you could think of something of your own.

There is no universal development process, but you can try following the algorithm:
  • Plan. Think of what your project is exactly about, what functionality it should provide and how it will be organized.
  • Develop. Now that you have a plan, you can start developing the project, step-by-step, following the plan you have.
  • Test. Once the development is done, test what you have for bugs and other problems.

There is no fixed number of classes you need to create. There are no classes that need to be in the project. It all is tied to the task. As you gain experience, you will see that sometimes you will create on the go, when new functionality needs to be added to the project.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 27 December 2009 - 06:13 AM