Computer Phones?

Is it possible to use a computer as a phone?

Page 1 of 1

12 Replies - 704 Views - Last Post: 31 December 2009 - 03:56 PM

#1 Vermiculus  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Regular
  • member icon

Reputation: 10
  • View blog
  • Posts: 314
  • Joined: 26-February 09

Computer Phones?

Posted 28 December 2009 - 04:35 PM

Is it possible to use the computer as a landline phone with a microphone, speakers (or just a headset w/ mic) and a phone cord going from your computer to a phone jack?
Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Computer Phones?

#2 GWatt  Icon User is online

  • member icon

Reputation: 270
  • View blog
  • Posts: 3,068
  • Joined: 01-December 05

Re: Computer Phones?

Posted 28 December 2009 - 05:06 PM

skype has that feature.

$90 / year for a line in and out.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 pakkuman_shinde  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 3
  • View blog
  • Posts: 116
  • Joined: 06-May 09

Re: Computer Phones?

Posted 28 December 2009 - 05:12 PM

I don't see how it would be a difficult enough thing to need to pay 90 a month... wouldn't you just need to translate the signal into voice and back, or do most companies use some form of encryption?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 NickDMax  Icon User is offline

  • Can grep dead trees!
  • member icon

Reputation: 2250
  • View blog
  • Posts: 9,245
  • Joined: 18-February 07

Re: Computer Phones?

Posted 28 December 2009 - 05:16 PM

Well I don't plug my computer into the phone jack on the wall (as I have FiOs) but I can make telephone calls to any land line or cell phone using my skype account (and I pay 10$/year not 95).

Since I have an ipod touch this is also nice because I can use my iPod Touch as a phone where ever I can find WiFi... like at home on my network...

There are some disadvantages, for example I can't call 911, if the power/internet goes out I have not communications.

Basically: the answer is YES.

IF you are just talking about using a modem as a "speaker/mic" for your computer that TOO is possible... that is how all those fancy "Your child was not in school today" calls get made.

I set one of those up WAY back in 1992... the computer basically just uses the modem as a sound device. At the time only certen modems "voice modems" were able to do that, but now AFAIK, all modems are "voice modems" and windows XP has all the software you would need already on it -- so long as you have a voice modem.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#5 GWatt  Icon User is online

  • member icon

Reputation: 270
  • View blog
  • Posts: 3,068
  • Joined: 01-December 05

Re: Computer Phones?

Posted 28 December 2009 - 05:23 PM

View Postpakkuman_shinde, on 28 Dec, 2009 - 06:12 PM, said:

I don't see how it would be a difficult enough thing to need to pay 90 a month... wouldn't you just need to translate the signal into voice and back, or do most companies use some form of encryption?


I said $90 / YEAR, not month. Also, they (skype) still has to pay for use of the phone lines. You want that service, you pay for it.

Apparently skype has changed their rates to even less then when I used skype as a phone.


And finally, I didn't see the part about plugging into a phone jack. Skype goes over your internet connection.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#6 skyhawk133  Icon User is offline

  • Head DIC Head
  • member icon

Reputation: 1868
  • View blog
  • Posts: 20,280
  • Joined: 17-March 01

Re: Computer Phones?

Posted 28 December 2009 - 05:39 PM

Vonage in the US. Skype internationally. I'd suggest Skype if I were you.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#7 Vermiculus  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Regular
  • member icon

Reputation: 10
  • View blog
  • Posts: 314
  • Joined: 26-February 09

Re: Computer Phones?

Posted 28 December 2009 - 07:52 PM

is there any way to do it without using the internet? I believe this is a modem card in my computer... it's the one with the phone jack.. how could i set this up? I already have phone service with Verizon, so the jack is live.

edit-> PCI Soft Data Faz Modem with SmartCP is what the Device Manager lists.

ring ring ring ring ring ring ring banana phooonnnneeeeeee

This post has been edited by Vermiculus: 29 December 2009 - 02:08 PM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#8 X@MPP  Icon User is offline

  • 僕わ馬鹿ですね?
  • member icon

Reputation: 36
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1,014
  • Joined: 20-February 09

Re: Computer Phones?

Posted 29 December 2009 - 06:19 PM

//dont use com 1 finde out what your port is
using (System.IO.Ports.SerialPort comPort = new System.IO.Ports.SerialPort("COM1", 2400))
			{
				comPort.DtrEnable = true;
				comPort.Write("ATDT 206-555-1000" + "\r\n");
				// All data transfer code goes here.
				
			}


Your Welcome

This post has been edited by X@MPP: 29 December 2009 - 06:19 PM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#9 Vermiculus  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Regular
  • member icon

Reputation: 10
  • View blog
  • Posts: 314
  • Joined: 26-February 09

Re: Computer Phones?

Posted 30 December 2009 - 02:56 PM

View PostX@MPP, on 29 Dec, 2009 - 05:19 PM, said:

//dont use com 1 finde out what your port is
using (System.IO.Ports.SerialPort comPort = new System.IO.Ports.SerialPort("COM1", 2400))
			{
				comPort.DtrEnable = true;
				comPort.Write("ATDT 206-555-1000" + "\r\n");
				// All data transfer code goes here.
				
			}


Your Welcome

woa woa woa what is this? VB?? vb can do that? lol
how would i implement this, perchance?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#10 Gorian  Icon User is offline

  • ninja DIC
  • member icon

Reputation: 120
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1,681
  • Joined: 28-June 08

Re: Computer Phones?

Posted 30 December 2009 - 03:11 PM

I use Gizmo5 with Google Voice. Doesn't cost me anything. Note that Gizmo5 is currently unavailable to new users, however that is supposed to change. Google.com/voice Gizmo5.com

Gizmo5 charges for outgoing calls, but not incoming. You register your gizmo5 numbers with Google voice, and it makes calls with Gizmo by making an Incoming call, which is free, and then transferring you. Though, Google Voice currently charges for calls out of the US, So may not be that cheap for some of you...

:/
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#11 ravmonster  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 2
  • View blog
  • Posts: 162
  • Joined: 20-July 09

Re: Computer Phones?

Posted 30 December 2009 - 06:04 PM

oh Shit that BANANA PHONE SONG is a killer!! :crazy:
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#12 Gloin  Icon User is offline

  • Expert Schmexpert...
  • member icon

Reputation: 235
  • View blog
  • Posts: 4,489
  • Joined: 04-August 08

Re: Computer Phones?

Posted 30 December 2009 - 07:24 PM

It's been on my mind all day.. I'm starting to get a bit worried..
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#13 Vermiculus  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Regular
  • member icon

Reputation: 10
  • View blog
  • Posts: 314
  • Joined: 26-February 09

Re: Computer Phones?

Posted 31 December 2009 - 03:56 PM

but I already have service and a modem card in my pc.. Is there no way to make calls on the landline? Like if I plug in a phone to the same port I can make calls - I just want to be able to do the same from a computer... :[

View PostGloin, on 30 Dec, 2009 - 06:24 PM, said:

It's been on my mind all day.. I'm starting to get a bit worried..

Goodness... I know... it's disturbingly catchy... O.O
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1