12 Replies - 1442 Views - Last Post: 09 January 2010 - 01:34 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Functional Programming Advice

Posted 01 January 2010 - 04:26 AM

Hello ,I am from Romania. I am rather new in using functional programming! Our teacher gave each of us an assignment.Mine says that I have to find all the natural divisors of a natural number,greater than 0. I am currently working in Poly/ML.I know already that in solving this problem ,a recursive approach is needed.I tried to put up my algorithm in ML,but ,when compiled, my program throws only one solution instead of al the divisors.In my algorithm I use a function called "divizor" and two parameters called n and i. "n" stands for the number which is given for finding its divisors and "i" stands for the first divisor that the program should start with. Here is the code I used in Poly/ML:
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
exception NumarNegativ;
exception OutOfBounds;
fun divizor(n,i)=if n<0 then raise(NumarNegativ)
else if n mod i =0 then i

else divizor(n,i+1);
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
The two exceptions that I created ar justified by the fact that if a negative number is given, then the program throws an exception ,telling that the number introduced is a negative one.The secound exception makes sence for stopping the recursion.
Could you please give me some ideas or guide me towards what there is to correct in my way of dealing with this problem?
Thank you in advance!!!! :^:

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Functional Programming Advice

• Saucy!
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Functional Programming Advice

Posted 01 January 2010 - 11:12 AM

Moved to Functional Programming.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Head
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 01 January 2010 - 12:06 PM

It's going to stop here: