5 Replies - 1536 Views - Last Post: 05 January 2010 - 11:02 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Cover Letter/Resume Critique

Posted 04 January 2010 - 12:16 PM

I have been searching for an intership, but I am not very good with resume and cover letter writing.
I would appreciate any tips or comments.

My Cover Letter is posted below:

Dear Sir or Madam,

I am writing you to express my interest and motivation in completing a summer internship in your company. I took notice in you company while browsing the MSU career services website.

My name is Alex, I am an enthusiastic 19 year old student. I am currently a second year Bachelors student in Computer Science at Michigan State University. Although this is my second year at MSU, I have just begun my junior year. My coursework ranges from Computer Architecture to Software Development. I am extremely interested in working in your company.

Apart from my regular curriculum, I am employed at the National Superconducting Cyclotron Laboratory. This allowed to me experience work in the computer industry. I am more than confident that I would make an active, open minded and useful member to your company. Surely, I would be able to contribute during my internship. I am very excited in finding an internship in the field of Software engineering.

My resume contains additional information on my experience and skills. I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss my candidacy with you.

Thank you for considering me,

Yours truly,

Alex

My Resume is posted below. I have it formatted in a very professional manner, but I did not want to add an attachment so I just pasted the content.

OBJECTIVE
Seeking a position that will provide excellent job experience, especially in the computer industry.
SKILLS PROFILE
▫ Excellent verbal and communication skills
▫ Fluent in C/C++
▫ Familiar with Python and SPARC assembly code
▫ Experience with various data structures and algorithms
▫ Working knowledge of Windows XP/Vista/7, Mac OS X, and Linux