Page 1 of 1

1 Replies - 542 Views - Last Post: 07 January 2010 - 03:33 PM

• D.I.C Head
  • member icon

• View blog

Hello World!

Posted 07 January 2010 - 03:04 PM

Hi all,

Well I am finally getting around to introducing myself. I am a novice programmer, and am brand new (less than 6 months) to C#. I am a mechanical engineer by education, and am currently working as a Plant Manager at a power plant. I am using my coding skills, what few there are, to develop programs to track the data my staff keeps in spreadsheets and miscellaneous files all over our server.
My experience in programming:

Fortran 77 - yes, I was actually quite good at it at one time, though I probably couldn't develop a "Hello World!" program now.
Visual Basic - Not great, but I could make it work.
VBA - this was my strong suit. While by no means an expert programer, I usually peppered my spreadsheets with lots of it.
- I used VBA a lot with OSIsoft's PI server if anyone ever needs some help.
C# - less than six months, but have managed to develop one program to help us track information around the plant.

I am currently using my job programming to learn as much as I can so I can develop a couple of programs for market. There are several programs for the power industry that collect data from many plants throughout the country, with very poor programs to help with it. I am hoping that I can change that.

The most unussual thing about me is that I have 4 kids. I don't think it is all that unussual, but most of the people I meet are amazed by it for some reason. Oh, and yes they are all from one woman, my lovely wife of almost 17 years!

Anyway, I hope I don't annoy folks with my million questions, but I will also be trying to post any solutions that I come up with as I ask.

Thanks,

Ed.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Hello World!

• Google.Sucks.Init(true);
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Hello World!

Posted 07 January 2010 - 03:33 PM

Welcome to Dream.In.Code