finding dominant color in an image

determine the dominant color in a color image by C++

Page 1 of 1

11 Replies - 7998 Views - Last Post: 17 January 2010 - 04:58 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

finding dominant color in an image

Post icon  Posted 13 January 2010 - 10:33 PM

Dear All..

i am new to C++ ..
however i am in rush to complete my project.

may i know is there any idea to finding out the dominant color in an image in RGB value ?

example.

there is an image of banana and some background.
thus, i would like to determine the exact RGB color space which dominant the image.

basically it will be yellow due to the banana.. just i cannot find a way to really extract the exact value of RGB out.

thinking of putting all RGB value in multidimension array from pixel to pixel. however i do not know how to calculate which pixel having most similar "family" in the image.

thank you so much for help ~~ :)

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: finding dominant color in an image

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Re: finding dominant color in an image

Posted 13 January 2010 - 11:56 PM

Okay I have no idea if this is possible, considering I have not dealt with anything like this before, but I would guess you put it in an array and then check the RGB value of each pixel and create a new counter whenever a new color shows up, and increment a counter if the same one shows up again. Then see which counter is highest and look at the RGB value associated.

Better wait for one of the experts to post though. : )
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 14 January 2010 - 04:14 PM

Yeah, do what is said above. Although you may want to group different colors in a group. Example: instead of 0xFF0000 (pure red) being different from 0xFF0A0A (a slightly darker red), you might want to put them both in the "red" catagory. Just learn how get the RGB values from an image file.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -