11 Replies - 1645 Views - Last Post: 05 March 2010 - 09:55 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

My Bachelors Degree

Post icon  Posted 14 January 2010 - 09:55 PM

Hi guys.

I am very new to coding. I have been doing professional PC repair for years but only have two semesters of coding under my belt.

Currently my major is "Computer Science" which is a Bachelor of Science.
My school also offers a Bachelor of Arts in Computer Systems - Web Design Option.

I am thinking of changing my major to the web design for multiple reasons:
1- I will be done faster.
2- It is emphasizing on the field of study I want to get into.
3- I want to do web programming, C#, php etc (where a lot of money is, and where software is going... web)
4- I am worried that I am shortcoming myself, I want a good job, I want a career.
5- I feel that three levels of calculus and 3 levels of advanced physics will NOT help me in my career. The B.S. degree seems more science oriented that I want in my career path.
6- The B.S. emphasizes much less on coding and learning coding languages.

My questions are as follow:
1- Am I shortcoming myself if I change majors? Or are my feelings unfounded?
2- Should I spend the extra time and money (I am already 25) on getting the Computer Science degree which will not teach me as much programming.
3- I think saying "I have a bachelors in web programming" sounds pretty sweet. Do you agree? Do you think I will be able to land a killer job still?

My goal is to have a career and support my family while working in an industry that I am passionate about.

Can I please have some thoughts/insights/ideas on my situation. I know many of you are full time professional software developers. Please give your advise if you have some.

Thanks,
Matt

This post has been edited by senseiz: 14 January 2010 - 09:56 PM

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: My Bachelors Degree

• Still the sexiest mofo.
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: My Bachelors Degree