Writing to specific line and variables

Page 1 of 1

3 Replies - 2372 Views - Last Post: 09 March 2006 - 05:08 AM

• D.I.C Addict
  • member icon

• View blog

JavaScript File Writing and Forms

Posted 06 March 2006 - 08:13 AM

Ok first off, I'll be honest. I'm definately not new to coding, especially html and whatnot. But I am relatively new to writing Javascript. I have a form that my company uses to write quotes. Don't ask me why they did it in HTML because I dont know. Anyway it's like all in Javascript because it writes to a file and creates other html pages with the quote.

They want me to fix it and make it better.
So I want to make it so that certain options change certain things and I want the form to be expanded onto multiple pages that display only the necessary parts of the form.
The catch is that I have to make it write an exact amount of lines into the file and write certain information on exact lines. How do I do this? Can it be done? Can anyone at least point me in the right direction??

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: JavaScript File Writing and Forms

• D.I.C Addict
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: JavaScript File Writing and Forms

Posted 06 March 2006 - 09:23 PM

Don't ask me why they did it in HTML because I dont know. Anyway it's like all in Javascript because it writes to a file and creates other html pages with the quote.

This seems rather contradictory: it's done "in HTML" ... "but all in Javascript". Are you talking about Server Side Includes (SSI)?

How do I do this? Can it be done?

Your description of the current process and what you need to accomplish is a bit vague and added that we have never seen the website of which you speak. It would also help to have a copy of the script and a more precise description of what it's currently doing and should be doing (or a look at the webpage).

Can anyone at least point me in the right direction??

Learn Javascript. ;)