5 Replies - 4428 Views - Last Post: 22 January 2010 - 09:35 PM

• D.I.C Head!
  • member icon

• View blog

Monopoly Alike Game

Posted 21 January 2010 - 05:24 PM

Ok I was asked by my teacher to build something that should look like the monopoly board, There has to be dice and figures for the players, cards, money .........

so i was thinking of starting the game but, I am having problems, i want to do it in 3D but i have never worked with 3D stuff before, and while looking around the web, a lot of people recommend XNA (obviously) but, so I tried XNA but I am having the worst time trying to load this .fbx cube file, well even worst i couldnt do it lol :P

So i decided to do something easier and do the proyect with 2D, now my question is, is there a way to simulate DiceRoll in 2D or should i just show the pictures of each side of the dice, randomly according to a variable that would be random with the images loaded in an array?

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Monopoly Alike Game

• D.I.C Regular

• View blog

Re: Monopoly Alike Game

Posted 21 January 2010 - 05:32 PM

What I would do is the second idea to start with. Then you could maybe add an animation in later. It would be GREAT practice for you to do so, but you would want to make sure the nuts and bolts work first. For example rent, and property and money rewards are calculated properly.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Head!
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 21 January 2010 - 06:29 PM

Yea you are probably right, I heard somewhere you could do 3D like objects using 2D, well ill just give it a go in 2D either way the board and everything is simpler also in 2D

Thanks for the reply by the way :)
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• using Caffeine;
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 21 January 2010 - 07:20 PM

View Postponcho4all, on 21 Jan, 2010 - 07:24 PM, said: