AMD Sempron SSE2 Emulation

CPU does not support SSE2 instructions

Page 1 of 1

2 Replies - 5317 Views - Last Post: 22 January 2010 - 04:07 PM

#1 alpha02  Icon User is offline

  • Sexy DIC God
  • member icon

Reputation: 46
  • View blog
  • Posts: 803
  • Joined: 20-May 06

AMD Sempron SSE2 Emulation

Posted 21 January 2010 - 09:25 PM

Hi guys, here's the thing: I'm trying to run the Dolphin emulator for GameCube on my Windows XP system, and it crashes before opening. I tried it in Ubuntu 8.10 (I have a dual boot system) and it says that my CPU does not support SSE2 instructions, so the program cannot run.

Here's what Everest Ultimate has to say about my CPU:
Type: AMD Sempron, 1750 MHz (10.5 x 167) 2500+
Alias: Thoroughbred-B
Stepping: B0
Instruction sets: x86, MMX, 3DNow!, SSE
Platform ID: D1h (Socket A)


As shown above, the SSE2 instruction set isn't listed. A lot of sites say that the only solution is to upgrade my CPU, which would cost me a few hundred bucks, but I heard that there's a patch to make the processor accept SSE2 instructions.

Is that patch only a rumor, or can I really get a such patch and avoid buying another CPU?

In case someone knows a workaround, I want to run the Skies of Arcadia game, I have the ISOs and I managed to play the Dreamcast version, but Chankast keeps crashing, so I just want to run this game without glitches.

Thanks.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: AMD Sempron SSE2 Emulation

#2 debjit625  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Regular
  • member icon

Reputation: 51
  • View blog
  • Posts: 446
  • Joined: 06-September 08

Re: AMD Sempron SSE2 Emulation

Posted 22 January 2010 - 03:44 PM

No it is not possiable, you can patch a software but you cant patch a hardware.Ya you can run SSE2 instruction with virtual machine on your computer but thats a simulation and its useless for your work, you have to buy another CPU sorry for that!.
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

#3 alpha02  Icon User is offline

  • Sexy DIC God
  • member icon

Reputation: 46
  • View blog
  • Posts: 803
  • Joined: 20-May 06

Re: AMD Sempron SSE2 Emulation

Posted 22 January 2010 - 04:07 PM

Thanks for the info, I'll give it a try with VMWare
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1