2 Replies - 611 Views - Last Post: 22 January 2010 - 06:15 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Newb + State Machines = Disaster

Posted 22 January 2010 - 04:05 PM

Hi there guys & gals.

To give you a bit of background before I launch into the questions, I'm fairly new to C#.
I'm working on a chat client for WM5/6 devices, using .Net CF3.5. So far things have gone well, up until I came to handling codes in the text.

Basically what needs to happen is when my client displays a message (incoming or outgoing) any codes in the text need to change the way the text is represented.

For example:

"The *quick* /brown/ _fox_ ..."

should display as:

"The quick brown fox ..."

Now this is where the questions start coming in...
From what I understand I need to impliment a state machine. The problem is I'm finding it very difficult to locate any decent information on how a state machine actually works, and how to impliment one.

My next concern is that I'm implimenting custom drawing code to handle all of the UI elements (my goals being finger-friendliness and good looks) and I'm worried that iterating through every character in a 200 message long string, given a maximum of 1000 chars per message, would seriously degrade performance.

So my questions are:
- Is there a better / faster way to parse and react to these codes than a state machine?
- If not, how does a state machine work?
- And, how would I impliment one to perform the task at hand?

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Newb + State Machines = Disaster

• "ADDICTED"[2:5]
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Newb + State Machines = Disaster

Posted 22 January 2010 - 05:04 PM

Here's information on the state pattern:
http://www.dofactory...tternState.aspx

- Is there a better / faster way to parse and react to these codes than a state machine?