• (2 Pages)
  • +

16 Replies - 20709 Views - Last Post: 16 February 2012 - 12:38 PM

• using System.Linq;
  • member icon

• View blog

Perl Roll Call

Posted 24 January 2010 - 10:50 AM

Are you a Perl developer? Do you have some projects you have made or maybe you already have a job in the Perl development field?

Share your experiences with us, so we could include you in the list of Perl developers here on Dream.In.Code!

Perl developers

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Perl Roll Call

• Perl Parson
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Perl Roll Call

Posted 27 January 2010 - 06:13 AM

I've been doing freelance software development since October, 2004, specializing in Perl/Linux development and have been working with Perl since sometime around late 1999/early 2000.

My latest released Perl project was the FishTwits web application and I'm currently working in my spare time on a web-based space trading game that I'm calling PSG ("Psychic Space Game"), which is coming along quite nicely with movement, trading, and combat in place. Other examples of my projects can be found on my coding site.

I've run into two main issues in my Perl work:

1) The misperception that Perl is "dead", "write-only", or otherwise unsuitable for new application development.

There's a lot of old, bad code out there which can be easily found by search engines, but today's Perl is a completely different animal, especially when written by professional programmers rather than someone just dabbling in the language with no software development background. Unfortunately, the more modern Perl has had a hard time becoming visible above the flood of "Matt's Script Archive"-era dross, but there are projects afoot, such as the Perl Iron Man Challenge, to try to change that.

2) Lingering confusion between Perl and CGI, leading to a belief that Perl is only good for web scripts.