8 Replies - 1729 Views - Last Post: 27 January 2010 - 01:37 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

A few questions about using wxWidgets

Posted 26 January 2010 - 11:10 AM

I'm fairly new to using wxWidgets, programming GUI applications, and event driven programming in general. I had a few questions that I am hoping are fairly easy and uncomplicated (I can hope) to answer.

What I've been using so far to do the little bit of work I've done is code blocks and wxSmith. I figure I probably sould learn how to do some of this by hand so I have some idea of what I'm actually seeing when I look at my code. So my first question is, are there any good tutorials for a beginner for this purpose?

Second, so far since I haven't really known how to pass data to the functions (events?) I've mostly used global variables when I've written a wxwidgets application. In plain C++ you'd declare and then define the function and inside the parenthesis you'd put the variables you'd like to pass to the function. In wxWidgets it creates things like this:
void Castle_Age_LandDialog::OnButton1Click(wxCommandEvent& event)
{
}

and so far I can include code inside that block and it will act like a function when the event happens, but I'd love to be able to pass variables in when that happens instead of just using global variables. Is this possible? If so, how do I do it? Do I need to modify a declaration somewhere too?

Third, it seems that when I create a normal c++ style function I can't interact with the wxWidgets stuff at all. That is to say, something like this won't work:
bool fullRecalculate(){
	//These two variables will be used for conversions.
	wxString tempWXString;
	double temp;
	//We're not going to do any user error input checking in this version
	//maybe in the next version...
	//Gets the amount of gold you have and stores it
	tempWXString = TextCtrl9->GetValue();
	return true;
}