Electronic cook book

(python question)

Page 1 of 1

5 Replies - 1666 Views - Last Post: 01 February 2010 - 01:59 PM Rate Topic: -----

• coderさん
  • member icon

• View blog

Electronic cook book

Posted 29 January 2010 - 02:00 AM

Hello there! the other day i began to use what skills i have to write a very basic 'cook book' for the computer. I am only fairly new to python but i planned this to be simple and then i would update it as i go. Basicly i am having a few problems which i can't seem to find a sulotion to...

- When the user currently searches something, it searches a list, i was wondering if i could use a database or a library as a more 'efficent' way to search than a list, but i don't know how i could do this.

-I plan to have the cookbook import a description of the recipe and then ask the user if they want to continue(I can do) but i don't know how to import something depending on something else e.g. the user selects a milkshake, how do i import milkshake.py without physically programming import milkshake.py i tried using stuff like a variable".py" but that didn't work. I am using easygui.choicebox to show the search results.

-Also with the search at the moment the search has to be exact to the recipe in the list. Is there a way they can mispell a recipe or write in a keyword and get a bunch of suggestions as to what they might of ment?

Here is my code:
import easygui, sys
def searchRes(search, recipes):
	if search in recipes:
		easygui.choicebox(msg ="Select a recipe", choices = (search, ""))
	elif search not in recipes:
						  easygui.msgbox("The recipe was not found!")
						  seaExi = easygui.boolbox("Would you like to search again or Exit?", choices =("Search again", "Exit"))
						  if seaExi == 0:
							  sys.exit()
						  elif seaExi == 1:
							  search()

def recomend(quickRec):
						  easygui.choicebox("have a look at today's recomendations!", title = "Easy Menu",
											choices =(quickRec))

def search():