11 Replies - 18321 Views - Last Post: 28 March 2006 - 04:42 PM

#1 Shadow OSX  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 1
  • View blog
  • Posts: 67
  • Joined: 28-March 06

Resizing Browser Window in Dreamweaver

Posted 28 March 2006 - 03:56 PM

I am having problems getting the correct resize for the browser display. I believe that I have the correct code.

<script language="Javascript">
window.resizeTo(800,729)

Now the Dreamweaver document I am making is 800x600.

That is wherein the problem lies. Everytime I change the height from 729 to 600, it puts scrollbars in the browser window. Why is this? I am positive of the size of the layout cell..

Is my code wrong?

I just want the stupid thing to fit without any scroll bars. :angry:

Please HELP!!! :crazy:

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Resizing Browser Window in Dreamweaver

#2 skyhawk133  Icon User is offline

  • Head DIC Head
  • member icon

Reputation: 1877
  • View blog
  • Posts: 20,284
  • Joined: 17-March 01

Re: Resizing Browser Window in Dreamweaver

Posted 28 March 2006 - 04:01 PM

Hi Shadow_OSX, Welcome to dream.in.code!

Does your window have the toolbars showing? Are you taking in to account the title bar, status bar, etc. etc.?

Can you link us to the offending page so we can test it in our browsers as well? Thanks!
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 Shadow OSX  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 1
  • View blog
  • Posts: 67
  • Joined: 28-March 06

Re: Resizing Browser Window in Dreamweaver

Posted 28 March 2006 - 04:05 PM

yes you can go to "www.chemistryadvertising.com/html/index2.htm"

the Dreamweaver cell is 800x600. I have it posted online right now with 800x729. I'll switch it via FTP to 800x600 if you want me to to show you the difference
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 michelle@urban  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Regular
  • member icon

Reputation: 1
  • View blog
  • Posts: 309
  • Joined: 09-July 05

Re: Resizing Browser Window in Dreamweaver

Posted 28 March 2006 - 04:07 PM

It is resizing it in my browser, however your content goes beyond the resized window, which I'm guessing is why you have the scroll bars????

EDIT: Spelling error Doh!

This post has been edited by michelle@urban: 28 March 2006 - 04:08 PM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#5 Shadow OSX  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 1
  • View blog
  • Posts: 67
  • Joined: 28-March 06

Re: Resizing Browser Window in Dreamweaver

Posted 28 March 2006 - 04:09 PM

EXACTLY!!! The Content IS 800x600. It should fit fine with the resize to 800x600, but it doesn't.

I have to set the resize to 800x729 for it to not show scrolls. I Promise the layout cell is 800x600.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#6 skyhawk133  Icon User is offline

  • Head DIC Head
  • member icon

Reputation: 1877
  • View blog
  • Posts: 20,284
  • Joined: 17-March 01

Re: Resizing Browser Window in Dreamweaver

Posted 28 March 2006 - 04:16 PM

It's doing exactly what you're telling it to do... resize the browser to 800x600. You can see in the attached image that the browser is in fact 600 pixels high. You will need to either open a NEW window with no toolbar, status bar, or URL bar, and force that window to about 800x620 (to account for the title bar). But there is no command to figure out how much crap the user has in the top of their browser... while I might have 100 pixels of toolbars and menus, someone else might have 500 pixels (especially if they have the yahoo, google, alexa, and my casino toolbars like my grandparents ;))

My suggestion, open a new window from the parent page and tell it not to show any of the extra stuff. This can be done using the following code:

window.open("path/to/file.html","Name Of Window","scrollbars=no,menubar=no,resizable=yes,width=800,height=620,status=no");


Hope that helps!

Attached image(s)

  • Attached Image

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#7 44corners  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head
  • member icon

Reputation: 1
  • View blog
  • Posts: 243
  • Joined: 22-February 06

Re: Resizing Browser Window in Dreamweaver

Posted 28 March 2006 - 04:19 PM

I just opened an 800x600 blank .jpg in my browser after your page resized it - scroll bars there too. Ok this is prob really dumb qu, but does the javascript resize the viewable content bit? I have a lot of add-ons for firefox, development panels etc...maybe that is included in the size?

EDIT: Ok I just read skyhawk's response...I really didn't think that would be the case, but there you go

This post has been edited by danielle_1_uk: 28 March 2006 - 04:21 PM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#8 Shadow OSX  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 1
  • View blog
  • Posts: 67
  • Joined: 28-March 06

Re: Resizing Browser Window in Dreamweaver

Posted 28 March 2006 - 04:23 PM

That is AWESOME!!! It makes total sense. I was NOT taking into account the tool bars and crap like that. Can you give me a code that I could use with my existing code:

<script language="Javascript">
window.resizeTo(800,729)

That would remove the toolbars? What toolbars do you recommend that I allow the users to keep? Also if you can, do you know the average pixel amount that most computers toolbars use?

I know this is a lot to ask, but it sounds like you know whats up. And I don't want any wrong info. Your a genious!
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#9 skyhawk133  Icon User is offline

  • Head DIC Head
  • member icon

Reputation: 1877
  • View blog
  • Posts: 20,284
  • Joined: 17-March 01

Re: Resizing Browser Window in Dreamweaver

Posted 28 March 2006 - 04:30 PM

If I arrived at your site and you took away all my toolbars, menubars, and scrollbars in my main window, I would be very angry with you :) That's why I suggested opening a new window (There are problems with this though...read on). You would just do something like this:

<html>
<head>
<title>CFM Realty</title>
</head>
<body onload="window.open("path/to/popup.html","CFM Realty","scrollbars=no,menubar=no,resizable=yes,width=800,height=620,status=no");">
</body>
</html>



Put that page you showed us in a new file called popup.html or whatever. I'm not aware of an easy way to adjust the CURRENT window's toolbar properties and such, but I might be wrong.

Keep in mind, 800x600 isn't actually 800x600, it's more like 780xhowever much stuff the user has in their toolbars. Also, if popups are disabled, you won't be able to see the new window. It might just be best to leave the users window as-is... unless this is a specific request by you or your client, leaving the window the same size will make users much happier. I take quite some time to all my windows layed out on my screen how I want and when I visit a site that messes with that, I am not a happy person.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#10 Shadow OSX  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 1
  • View blog
  • Posts: 67
  • Joined: 28-March 06

Re: Resizing Browser Window in Dreamweaver

Posted 28 March 2006 - 04:34 PM

So you recommend to not resize....at all?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#11 skyhawk133  Icon User is offline

  • Head DIC Head
  • member icon

Reputation: 1877
  • View blog
  • Posts: 20,284
  • Joined: 17-March 01

Re: Resizing Browser Window in Dreamweaver

Posted 28 March 2006 - 04:40 PM

Yup, just leave the window as is and position as much of your site above the fold (the amount of screen the user sees before scrolling) as you can. The site looks just fine in my 1280x1024 window, and if someone is at 800x600, they'll just have to scroll a little... trust me, their used to it :)

I think from a usability standpoint, not messing with your visitors browser is a good idea, you gain very very very little form a design perspective by resizing the window.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#12 44corners  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head
  • member icon

Reputation: 1
  • View blog
  • Posts: 243
  • Joined: 22-February 06

Re: Resizing Browser Window in Dreamweaver

Posted 28 March 2006 - 04:42 PM

Shadow OSX, on 28 Mar, 2006 - 08:26 PM, said:

So you recommend to not resize....at all?

I don't know anything about Javascript, but from a design point of view I don't see the point for a site's main page - as SkyHawk said, users like to customise the way they see the internet...fiddling with that will just irritate them. Plus you will NEVER be able to get that window looking the same to everyone, even if you use a pop-up and remove toolbar items, because people customise their toolbar font sizes, icons etc etc.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1